Download App

Fortress is available for Android and iOS smartphones or tablets. Download Fortress from the App Store or Google Play. It’ll take you less than 1 minute to join!

Sync

Back

How can we help?

Filter Questions By

DOES MY DEVICE NEED TO BE SWITCHED ON FOR SYNC TO WORK?

Yes!   Your device must be switched on to enable Sync to backup, transfer and restore data to and from your device.

Without any power, a data connection cannot be made and as a result Sync unfortunately has no way to connect to the Fortress Cloud.

DOES MY DEVICE NEED A DATA CONNECTION FOR SYNC TO WORK?

Yes! A data connection is vital to enable Sync to backup, transfer and restore data to and from your device.

Without a data connection Sync unfortunately has no way to connect to the Fortress Cloud.

WHY ARE THERE CONTRACTS BACKED UP THAT I DIDN'T ADD?

Unfamiliar contacts may be the result of automatic contact creation in your native device account.

If you're noticing large numbers of unknown email address or phone numbers in your contact list, it is probably the result of Google or Apple’s automatic contact creation in your phone book.  iOS and Android then imports those contacts when syncing your phone.

Whenever you reply to or forward an email using your Android or Apple device, your device automatically includes the email address(es) under "Other Contacts" in your account.  The operating system then tries to extrapolate the email address's owner; however, it sometimes appears to be a completely random connection.

For safety Fortress backs up all the contacts stored on your device which includes the random contacts as well.

HOW DO I RESTORE MY CONTACTS?

Please Note:

The Restore feature is part of Fortress' Sync.

"Restore" is intelligent and contacts will automatically be restored onto your device if required. However, this automated response can only occur if you are signed into Fortress on your device. There are certain circumstances where you may not be signed in, these include:

  • You have just Nuked your device.
  •  You have just re-installed Fortress onto the device.
  • You have cleared your app data.
  • You have performed a factory reset of your device

 

Therefore, in these events please follow these steps in order to restore your contacts back onto your device:

1.   Open Fortress on your device.

2.   Please sign in to Fortress by entering the email address and password you used to join Fortress.

3.   Restore will automatically begin.

4.   Your device must be powered on and have a data connection (e.g. WIFI or Mobile data) for Sync’s Restore feature to work.

5.   Your device must be powered on and have a data connection (e.g. WIFI or Mobile data) to enable you to open and sign into Fortress.

HOW DO I TRANSFER MY CONTACTS TO ANOTHER DEVICE?

The transfer feature is part of Fortress' Sync.

"Transfer" is intelligent and contacts will automatically be transferred onto your device if required. However, this automated response can only occur if you are signed into Fortress on both your existing

device and the "other device"

Therefore, in these events please follow these steps in order to accurately transfer your contacts back onto your device:

 

EXISTING DEVICE

1.   Open Fortress on your existing device.

2.   If required, please sign in to Fortress by entering the email address and password you used to join Fortress.

3.   Sync will automatically start and backup contacts that haven’t been backed up.

 

 

OTHER DEVICE

1.   Open Fortress on the "other" device.

2.   Please sign in to Fortress by entering the email address and password you used to join

Fortress.

3.   Answer the questions that you will be presented with (e.g. Do you want to update your account?)

4.   Depending on the circumstance selected contacts will automatically transfer the contacts

onto the device.

5.   In the circumstances that transfer doesn’t automatically trigger; click the Sync tab on the

Home screen.

6.   Click the "Update Backup" button

7.   Transfer will finish when all the contacts have been up transferred to the new/other device.

 

Please Note:

1.   Your device must be powered on and have a data connection (e.g. WIFI or Mobile data) for

Sync’s Transfer feature to work.

2.   Your device must be powered on and have a data connection (e.g. WIFI or Mobile data) to

enable you to open and sign into Fortress.

WHAT DOES ''NEXT BACKUP'' MEAN?

Next Backup displays the date and time of the next scheduled backup. The Next Backup field will update as a result of Sync’s Auto-Sync feature.

Auto-Sync will automatically schedule a backup and consequently Next Backup will display a date and

time that represents the following scenarios:

 

  • 12 hours after the last backup has been completed.
  • 5 minutes after the device is switched on.
  • 30 minutes after an Auto-Sync has failed due to lack of data connection (mobile network or WiFi).

 

As you are a member of Fortress USA the time is displayed in Pacific Standard Time (PST).

WHAT DOES ''LAST BACKUP'' MEAN?

Last Backup displays the date and time of the last successfully completed backup.

The last backup field will update when either an auto-sync, a backup, transfer or restore has been successfully completed.

As you are a member of Fortress USA the time is displayed in Pacific Standard Time (PST).

HOW DOES AUTO - SAVE WORK?

Auto-Sync is the automatic backup feature of Sync. It is available to all members of Fortress (Basic, Premium & Ultimate).

Auto-Sync runs in the background, is 100% automatic and requires no user interaction.  It provides, Fortress users peace of mind that their valuable contacts will always be secure, protected and backed up.

Auto-Sync will automatically schedule a backup:

 

  • 12 hours after the last backup has been completed.
  • 5 minutes after the device is switched on.
  • 30 minutes after an Auto-Sync has failed due to lack of data connection (mobile network or WiFi).

HOW DO I MANUALLY BACKUP MY CONTACTS?

If you would like to manually backup some contacts, it’s exceptionally easy. All you need to do is follow the 3 steps below:

 

  1. Open Fortress on your Android dev
  2. Click the Sync tab on the Fortress home screen.
  3. Press the “Update backup” button to activate backup.

 

FYI: You can view all your backed up contacts by accessing your secure portal at www.yourfortress.com

WHAT DATA DOES SYNC, BACKUP?

As of July 2016 Sync only backs up your contacts.

Fortress has prioritised contact backup as the majority of people deem their contacts as the most important and valuable data set stored on their device.

As well as backing up contacts Fortress’ Sync can also transfer and restore contacts onto new, existing or replacement devices.

The ability to back up photos and call history will be coming soon.

Not answered your question?

Please contact the Fortress Help Team below

Help Me

Accept Cookies

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More information can be found in our cookie policy

Accept and close
Back to top